Nigeria’s Electoral Body, INEC Disqualifies APGA, ADC, AA Candidates For Osun Governorship Election

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has disqualified the nominees of the Action Alliance (AA); African Democratic Congress (ADC) and the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) for the Osun governorship election.

The electoral body said their nominations failed to comply with the Commission’s certain guidelines or the Nigerian Constitution. It said the primaries that produced their candidates were not in line with the required guidelines.

Festus Okoye, INEC’s National Commissioner and Chairman, Information and Voter Education disclosed this in a statement issued in Abuja on Thursday.

According to him, the Commission will on Friday, publish the list and personal particulars of the candidates that political parties propose to sponsor at the election, in its state and local government offices in Osun State

Okoye said those successful candidates are those who emerged from valid primaries in line with Section 84 of the Electoral Act 2022.

The statement said, “The Commission will publish the list and personal particulars of the candidates of 15 out of the 18 political parties that conducted primaries.

“The nominations of AA; ADC and APGA will not be published for their failure to comply with the Commission’s Guidelines on Political Party Operations (2018) or the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999 (as amended).

“The AA did not submit a nomination jointly signed by the National Chairman and Secretary of the party while the ADC and APGA nominated candidates that do not meet the age requirements for the office of Deputy Governor as enshrined in the Constitution.

“The Commission has already communicated this position officially to the affected Political Parties.”

Gbadebo Adekunle, Adekunle Fadahunsi and Ifedola Olufemi are the candidates of the All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA), Action Alliance (AA), and African Democratic Congress (ADC) respectively for the July 16, 2022 governorship election.


Leave a Reply