Messi leads Argentina for pre-Copa defense games

Inter Miami‘s Lionel Messi heads up Argentina‘s 29-man roster for upcoming friendlies prior to Copa América.

Argentina will play exhibitions against Ecuador on June 9 at Chicago’s Soldier Field and Guatemala five days later at FedEx Field in Landover, Maryland, ahead of defending their Copa América title.

Stream on ESPN+: LaLiga, Bundesliga, more (U.S.)

Lionel Scaloni’s picks include 22 of the 26 players on the 2022 World Cup-winning team, including Messi and Benfica forward Ángel Di María.

Missing from this roster are Paulo Dybala (AS Roma), Juan Foyth (Villarreal) and Thiago Almada (Atlanta United FC).

Teams are required to submit their final rosters for Copa América by June 15, three days later than initially required. Last week, CONMEBOL confirmed that roster sizes for the tournament would be expanded to a maximum of 26 players per team.

Argentina, the defending world and South American champion, open Copa América against Canada or Trinidad and Tobago on June 20 in Atlanta, then play Chile five days later in East Rutherford, New Jersey, and Peru on June 29 at Miami Gardens, Florida.

Argentina roster for Copa América friendlies

GOALKEEPERS: Emiliano Martínez (Aston Villa), Franco Armani (River Plate), Gerónimo Rulli (Ajax Amsterdam)

DEFENDERS: Gonzalo Montiel (Nottingham Forest), Nahuel Molina (Atlético Madrid), Leonardo Balerdi (Marseille), Cristian Romero (Tottenham), Germán Pezzella (Betis), Lucas Martínez Quarta (Fiorentina), Nicolás Otamendi (Benfica), Lisandro Martínez (Manchester United), Marcos Acuña (Sevilla), Nicolás Tagliafico (Lyon), Valentín Barco (Brighton)

MIDFIELDERS: Guido Rodríguez (Betis), Leandro Paredes (AS Roma), Alexis Mac Allister (Liverpool), Rodrigo De Paul (Atlético Madrid), Exequiel Palacios (Bayer Leverkusen), Enzo Fernández (Chelsea), Giovani Lo Celso (Tottenham), Valentin Carboni (Monza).

FORWARDS: Ángel Di María (Benfica), Lionel Messi (Inter Miami), Ángel Correa (Atlético Madrid), Alejandro Garnacho (Manchester United), Nicolas Gonzalez (FC Porto), Lautaro Martínez (Inter Milan) Julián Álvarez (Manchester City).


Leave a Reply

Skip to toolbar